One thought on “Assignment 2: Final Draft

  1. Based on your comments on my rough draft, I feel like I did a good job with the topic sentence dilemma, which has been the main focus of improvement in this class. Beyond that, my guesses as to what I will be told to improve upon from this paper to the next:

    – Be more concise. There seems to be moments in this paper where I use multiple quotes when one would have brought the idea forth. The paragraph that comes to mind is the one about Heloise’s initial letter to Abelard, which does not, in itself, prove anything in my argument that it isn’t proven later by Abelard’s letter. The idea of Heloise’s prompt as set up for Abelard’s letter works well for my argument, but probably could be done with fewer words. Ironically, upon rereading, my paragraph on Abelard’s response feels too short. It could have benefited from more textual examples to support ideas like “everything about the letter feels distant.”
    -Avoid phrases like “it is important to note” and “it comes off as.” Avoid repeating “this shows how” too much.

Leave a comment